The French Get Freaky … Haute Coture Fashion Week Mother F*cker!

It’s Haute Coture Fashion Week all up in Paris right now, which means we get to look at stuff like this:

Image

Maison Martin Margiela

Is that a doorknob? A crotch doorknob? You’re just confused about the thing on her face, right? But I can’t get past that doorknob. And how does that bitch walk in that mask!? But call me crazy, I actually do kind of like the see-through pants/skirt trend happening lately, even though I think most Real people probably can’t pull it off.

Image

Maison Martin Margiela

Would I wear this skirt that Lana Del Rey has on below? Yes, yes, I probably would. Or at least some variation of it.In fact I kind of want one to wear right now.

Image

Let’s see. What else was good enough, or weird enough, to talk about on the French Catwalks?

I was feelin the Jean-Paul Gautier Egyptian-esque, 1920’s Circus/Mediterranean super lush colors, fabrics, patterns, and textures:

Image

Image

Image

And his whacky ass turban did not disappoint either.  ….Are we still trying to do turbans btw? I’ve never seen one on the streets of Portland and can’t be sure if anyone is still trying, but I think I’m sure that I wish they would…

Image

Love that final dress.

And to contrast, Christian Dior had some amazing clean line silhouettes that I would fucking die for. Although his models really need to EAT. Jesus.

Image

Love the orange, houndstooth, green/white shoe ensemble. Perfect mix of colors.

Image

Model boobs!

And of course the requisite whackiness:

Image

But can we also take a look at his runway? How crazy with all those flowers everywhere? Fashion shows of this caliber are no fucking joke. Nice touch. And how many of you want this red dress?

Image

Lastly, for today, let’s look at….Chanel. I was crazy fucking bored.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Ew! What is that pink poodle mess above? It was old and ugly. The whole thing. I hated all of it and  usually I’m not so crazy anti-Chanel, but this all just sucked. … well except for this. This was kind of cool.

Image

I feel creeped out. I think a lot of it is that model. Can she really not move her arms, or is she just playin like she can’t move her arms?

There is TONS more Paris Haute Coture Fashion week to cover. I wanted to touch on it now, but later, when I’m wasted, I’d love to really dive in and give you some more, probably better, judgey reviews.

Until then …. Happy Monday!

xoxo, Lou

2 responses to “The French Get Freaky … Haute Coture Fashion Week Mother F*cker!

  1. Elizabeth Dwyer Sandlin

    Me! I want that red dress. Then I want to go back in time and wear it at my wedding. In a French castle. On the Mediterranean.

    Also, WTF Chanel? I am a consummate fan and all I can say is… Ew. It’s like… Beginners week on ProjRun. Except that last dress, which is like something Charlize should’ve worn in Snow White and the Huntsman.

    Couture week is so fun!

  2. Pingback: From Runway to Real Life | Cheap Wine And Panty Lines

Leave a Reply

