Falling for Fall Fashion

While Lou gets herself settled in her new abode, I offered to step in with a guest post, gushing over my new favorite Fall Collection. Always primed for inspiration, Lou quickly proposed that she find her own Wow Collection as an example of one of our favorite topics: how two very close sisters (who look very much alike) can have two completely different approaches to Style. Today you get to see what I’m fawning over, and Lou will post her swoon-inducing collection as soon as she gets the internet hooked up in her new apartment. (Which might be never at the pace I’m going -Lou).

Consider this a counter piece to my How to Dress Like a Lady on a Budget piece. This is more of a How to Dress Like a Lady if You’re Obscenely Wealthy post. Because money can buy you fashion, but it cannot buy you style. If you don’t believe me, well there’s this:

I apologize for that. Please take a moment to wash out your eyeballs.

Now on with the coveting. Over lunch the other day I was innocently flipping through the most recent issue of Vanity Fair, when this ad punched me in the face with fashion love:

(That dog looks so weird to me and I’m not even drunk. He looks really confused … sort of how I feel about this collection, but hey, not my obsession. Carry on. -Lou)

It’s plaid-tweed-menswear-1920’s heaven. Subtle, polished, Gatsby. What’s not to love? (Rhetorical? Errrr … cause, I could name a few things probably if .. no? Ok) As I explored the collection further, Lou encouraged me to embrace my outer Prep. Which is fair, because just the other day I stepped out in some plaid Tommy Hilfiger kicks and confessed to my husband, “I love these shoes, and they are just so undeniably Preppy.” As is this outfit:

Which I would be wearing right this instant, if I were wealthy and it wasn’t 90 degrees outside. And for my Very Important Meetings with Very Important People (all wealthy people have those, right?) (Wealthy people have other people go to their meetings for them. Rich people go to their own meetings. You’d be rich) I’d toss on this effortless bit of class:

The details here are Killing me. The shoes! The pocket chain! The splash of color in that beautiful shirt! This would be me, channeling my husband. He genuinely dresses that sleek and sexy on a regular basis. Case in point:

That’s him on the left. Seriously. Even among all those well-dressed men, he’s the snazziest. In my humble opinion. So that lady-suit is essentially the gal version of what he wears to work. Delicious.

Moving on, as this collection is for me and not Johnny, here’s the ladyiest of the lady outfits that I’m pining for:

That CLOCHE.

It’s perfection. And now I am determined to artfully accent my grays with pops of fuchsia. Can I call that fuchsia? Or is Anna Wintour’s head – somewhere in the world, at this very moment – pulling an Exorcist because it’s actually puce?  Either way, that outfit should be mine because it’s named after my mother.

Now if I were ever wealthy it would only be as a result of my creative prowess. I am not an entrepreneur, but I can create like a motherfucker. So if I were wealthy I would most definitely end up on a red carpet somewhere. And on that red carpet I would wear this:

Backless.

I am a sucker for backless.

This perfect-amount-of-sparkle dress might be a little witchy on the bottom when still, but in motion it looks like she’s kicking up little wings around her calves. And I could Eat those shoes. Deco fabulous. And also, oddly, named after my mother with an extra E. The universe wants me and these outfits to be together.

Speaking of deco, I’ve also picked out an outfit for Rachel McAdams. Lou and I recently discovered that she actually needs a little red carpet help (which we tend to overlook in the moment, because she is So Damn Pretty), and I’ve determined that this should be her next fancy-dress ensemble:

You can see it, non? (yeah!) (Wealthy people also use random French words to add to their allure)

As my final nod to Fall Wealthy Lady Fashion, we say au revoir to Ralph and swoop over to Kate. My first and truest Wealthy Ladylike Love. Now I am 100% serious when I say that if I had $700 lying around with nothing better to do, I would buy this coat:

If you’ve won the lottery or have a trust fund, my birthday is next week and you should feel free to buy me this entire outfit.
I can hear Lou now. “Are you fucking kidding me?? $700??? For a coat?? That is absurd. No one item of clothing should cost $700.”

But I love this perfect, timeless trench so much that it makes my eyes hurt. And I believe in investment pieces. As in, I would literally wear it for the rest of my life. Why own the same Burberry trench coat as everyone else in the Hamptons when you could have that kicky little skirt and that adorable printed lining?? You know what that lining is, don’t you? French words. The cherry on top of your ladylike, wealthy, élégant self.

Lou will be chiming in soon with her own favorites for fall, and it’s a safe bet that they’ll be a far cry from my fantasies of Oxford, polo matches, and apple cider brandy. Stay tuned!

2 responses to “Falling for Fall Fashion

  1. Pingback: Cheap Wine and Fall Fashion Swooning « Real Living Beauty

  2. Pingback: Fun with Shopping Carts | Cheap Wine And Panty Lines

Leave a Reply

