Ass Kicking Jewelry

Recently, ok fine, it’s been awhile now, but in the last 6 months, my girl Mae asked for some help finding jewelry with an edge. I initially began my research on the web, but there is so much mother fucking jewelry out there that it became impossible for me to narrow down selections to anything meaningful.

Enter Instagram.

Following my friends on Instagram is pretty great of course, but I actually find I use it more for shopping and/or ‘Cool Hunting’. I have discovered more brands and rad styles from Instagram than I could have ever hoped from the web, no doubt on account of its categorizing abilities and hopping from one babe wearing a hot pair of shoes to all of her friends who are also giving shout outs to the small boutiques and DIYselfers, or even large chains, that are churning out the fashions they sport in all their “selfies”.

My Mae recently just started an Instagram account, so the links and images I’m about to post will be super easy for her to track down and ‘Follow’ – same for all of you! From there it’s just a matter of jumping around through the network to find more styles you like –  a stupidly crazy fun time suck for sure.

PAMELA LOVE  @PAMELALOVENYC

This is not cheap jewelry. But it is hot. And I can absolutely see Mae falling in love with it. A lot of it also offers an “edgier” concept than a lot of the crystal and quartz floating around these days:

e51a2540ae2249bed93fde17a3c25f66Who doesn’t want a Pentagram ring? I know I do. ($100)

img-thingOr maybe you’d rather blow your load on the $575 Southwestern Cuff?

pamela-love-rosary-0aUgh if I had $225 I would definitely be buying this Daggar Rosary. And then I would definitely be mixing it up some days like this sexy broad:

DSC_0229

Or for a mere $80 you can go with a simple Sahara Ring, that is all purpose and great for mixing in with other funkier pieces.

65483_1

Either way, with Pamela Love, you’re going to look great and have fun because her pieces are edgy, nature inspired, and quality as fuuuck.

PamelaLove pamela-love-double-talon-ring-0a 485136_527608467262700_330889856_n

Moving along than, shall we…

BETTER LATE THAN NEVER aka BLTN @bltnjewelry

Stones and gems and crystals abound these days and this little outfit has a unique way of throwing them onto the tiniest cutest studs, in addition to some other fun stuff.

I’m sorry I keep throwing expensive stuff at you. Let’s just assume these are more intended for inspiration, unless you’re lucky ass can actually afford this shit.

pink_14k_tourm_1But how cute are these $242 Pink Tourmaline Studs? So cute. I know.

mis__flat_19_2Or maybe mix it up, literally, with these mismatched studs, which I happen to quite like and not as steep at $94.

There are non-stone earrings too and the rest of their offerings get a little tribal, in a way I’m not always sure I could pull off, but in a way that I want to watch other people try:

setting_sun_earrings_3$138 Setting Sun Earrings

long_herk_neck_5$186 Diamond Drop Necklace

ContentImage-10928-204209-LRBTLNATEN03

Cute, right?

Ok, finally on to some more affordable shit…

MOON METAL @MOONMETAL

A perfect example of finding tiny shops that I would most likely never otherwise hear of … Moon Metal Jewelry. Sounds hippie dippie, right? And it kind of is, but in an affordable, trendy way. There are probably a trillion shops in Portland selling similar shit. Or in whatever town you’re reading this in. Let’s see what’s cool:

Arrowheads

ba3d80_2226a3011733c780d61e414df9559def.png_srz_400_400_75_22_0.50_1.20_0M X Gold Arrowhead Necklace … $28.

Almost bought this Rosary Necklace last night …

ba3d80_5f297af4bb6fadeb7061e09138529626.png_srz_399_400_75_22_0.50_1.20_0But then remembered that could be $26 spent to go see my best friend in London. Or $26 to go somewhere tropical. Or, or, or. …

There are also a lot of tusks and teeth on there. Guess this is still cool and an easy way to toughen stuff up a bit. Or as I said earlier – crystals. Are. Everywhere.

And I like them nowhere better than I do here:

BARBARA C. PELLEGRINO @BARBARACPELLEGRINO bcpjewelry.com

Everything she makes is in a very limited quantity, which is where she really uses Instagram to her advantage and why you should follow her for those moments you see something you love and then notice it says underneath the picture “only 3!”:

d849652684ee11e2ba6922000a1fb733_7

1f436f287f7011e2873222000a1f9e77_7c46c577a810b11e2b22b22000a1f96e2_773f25d3282d011e288ea22000a1f9318_79aeed0547c8c11e28dba22000a1f97e5_7Follow her. You’ll be pumped you did.

This next one is non-Instagram still I think, but should maybe be Instagram ON soon, because it’s so great and local for us Portlanders and made by a super sexpot, bombshell lady friend of mine, Miss Jimi Pop. I see her stuff on all of our friends and am always totally smitten with her pieces:

OLD TIGER oldtigerandpeach.tumblr.com

tumblr_mak9loZJLc1rgys48o1_1280

One of my favorite things about her most recent pieces are the chains. They’re the perfect length to sit right in that sweet spot between your boobs and usually interspersed with great geometric shapes that add something simple, but significant:

tumblr_mj7f1lFXSu1rgys48o1_1280

tumblr_mj7fzm8ajq1rgys48o2_1280

Go to her blog and email her for inquiries.

And lastly, another Instagram gem, check out VIDAKUSH @vidakush, for some serious fun:

img_4323_largeFuck Off Ring Set $50

img_4394_large IMG_4631_largeBow Ring and Diamond Ring, both $12 … which means that might not be long for this world, but whatever, they’re cute.

Plus, they just want you to throw a bunch of shit on anyway…

tumblr_mj0c7mkqsg1qesfwfo1_250 tumblr_mj5gmsjrgp1qesfwfo1_250 tumblr_mj73me1F3a1qesfwfo1_250

Jordan – are you totally getting on that 90’s revival up there??

So, I’m tired now. That’s all I can give. I hope it was enough. There is cute jewelry all around us these days. And you can pay hundreds of dollars, or $12, depending on what you’re going for, but I’m telling you, Instagram is a phenomenal way to find it, especially if you want to avoid the web or just get some good ideas.

If you have additional spots you like to shop and find jewelry, throw them on here under the comments so we can all go stalk their products and waste more time shopping!

xoxo, Lou

PS – will someone please explain body chains to me?

page6_grande

5 responses to “Ass Kicking Jewelry

  1. LKell

    Check out Bliss Lau’s stuff (blisslau.com) if you want body chains explained to you visually – though she’s gone on to leather jewelry work in addition to chains – and some super incredible high end pieces. I went to high school with her. Amazing girl.

    Bliss kicks it with lots of other incredible designers around town, such as Bijules (bijulesnyc.com/).

    Tough jewelry for sure.

  2. Crystal

    Well, just bought some jewelry. ^_^ I covet BLTN’s stuff and follow her on Instagram, but I just don’t have that kinda scratch. I had never heard of BARBARA C. PELLEGRINO and her stuff is gorg!! I just bought the Amethyst Slice necklace and the Large Freeform Tourmaline necklace. Have to brag on Jesse for a minute cause he bought me a dope Drusy ring for my birthday! (he snooped on my Pinterest and found this: http://pinterest.com/pin/149041068890354694/ smart boy <3)

  3. Mae

    Nailed it! Totally worth the wait. I can’t wait til next month when I can maybe afford the $12 stuff. 🙂 Thanks Luc!

  4. Pingback: Badass Jewelry Follow-Up | Cheap Wine And Panty Lines

  5. Pingback: Fashionably Late | Cheap Wine And Panty Lines

Leave a Reply

